NLP Final Post – My Cute New Hat

Posted on

During my Network Learning Project I took on the skill of learning to crochet. Seeing that crocheting is very visual I sought out resources that fit my need to see as I was learning. When I was first searching for instructions for crocheting I explored a number of yarn companies and their step-by-step how to directions. These directions had to be read and had pictures that accompanied them. When I attempted to learn with the written descriptions I did not feel comfortable.

I then moved on to videos that I found on YouTube. Finally, I found a resource that actually was helpful in learning my chosen skill. I enjoyed the videos because I got to see the stitch in action, I could stop and rewind when I got lost, and the videos showed left handed instructions. Another feature of the videos was how they were organized. As I went through the video the stitches got more complex and built upon the skill learned during the previous stitch.

At the beginning of my NLP I had vague learning targets and I was unsure of what I wanted to create for my final project to show my new skill. In one of the first videos I watched the instructor suggested using chunky yarn and large crochet hooks as a beginner. I decided to take that advice and find a project that involved chunky yarn. I went online and found a cute hat pattern that fit the bill. I also chose a hat because it was a smaller project and would take less time to complete.

When I felt comfortable with crocheting I started making my hat and hit a snag right away. Hats need to be crocheted in the round and I had only learned straight lines. I went back to YouTube and found another resource that was helpful. Once I got the hang of crochet in the round I was really cruising. Before I knew it I had hit the point in the pattern that required me to start a new color and I didn’t know how. So, back to YouTube I went for another video and I quickly found my instructions.

As I think about how my NLP went I am very pleased with myself. I was able to zero in on a resource that would work for me and did not waste time with one that was not effective. If I were to learn another skill that required visual learning the way crocheting did I would not hesitate to return to YouTube.  I did not find success with step-by-step directions or help forums for learning the basics of crochet. I can imagine that as I master more difficult stitches and projects that help forums may become a resource that I use more. I can imagine all the tips, secrets, and shortcuts there are out there that wouldn’t find their way to the videos.

If I were to challenge my students to learn online the way I did I am not sure how effective it would be at the beginning. I have no doubt that they could do it, but there are skills that I possess that my students do not. I knew that when I did not understand that I needed to stop and watch it again. That reflection skill is not a strength of my eighth graders. That does not mean though that they are unable to learn that skill and then become more effective online learners. I as an educator need to incorporate that skill into more of my instruction to aid them as we move forward.

Leave a comment